National Service Scheme (NSS)

Program Officer: Prof. Mukesh Kumar Jain

The National Service Scheme (NSS) organized a International Yoga Day on June 21, 2023. As part of the "Meri Maati Mera Desh" campaign, the NSS unit arranged Independence Day celebrations on 14th August, 2023. The NSS unit executed a cleanliness drive within the college campus and its surroundings on 1st October, 2023. Embracing the concept of unity in diversity, the NSS unit organized an "Amrit Kalash Yatra" on 13th October, 2023. A session on "Khadi Mahotsav" was conducted on 30th October, 2023, as an awareness program on the use of Khadi. On the same day, the NSS unit celebrated "Rashtra Ekta Diwas" to commemorate the idea of unity in diversity and honor the legacy of Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel. Constitution Day was celebrated on 24th November, 2023, in collaboration with Dr. B R Ambedkar Centre of the college. An oath-taking ceremony was organized on the theme "Mera Pehla Vote Desh Ke Liye" to raise awareness among students about the importance of their vote on 11th March, 2024. TAARUNYA'24, a National Youth Convention, took place on 21st March, 2024, with Shri Anurag Singh Thakur, Hon'ble Minister of Sports, Youth Affairs, and Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, as the chief guest. Other notable guests included Dr. Rakshit Tandon, Cyber Security Expert, Government of India; Shri Ajay Choudhary, IPS, Special Commissioner, Delhi Police; Swami Prem Parivartan, Famed as Peepal Baba; Shri Sudhanshu Ranjan, Ex-Additional Director General, Doordarshan; Shri C Samuel Chelliah, Deputy Programme Advisor, NSS, Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports; Shri Shar Wan Ram, Regional Director, NSS Delhi; Shri Narendra Bishnoi, NSS Programme Co-Ordinator, University of Delhi; and other distinguished guests graced the event with their presence. NSS volunteers actively participated in various programs organized by the University of Delhi and the Ministry of Home Affairs, such as the DU Centenary Celebration by the University of Delhi; Naari Shakti Conclave by the University of Delhi; Unity Run by the Ministry of Home Affairs; and Votation Run by District Election Office, Shahdara.